Skip to content

Meet Your New Bartender at Jaynes, Ms. Sarah Ellis

Firstly, let me introduce myself. My name is Sarah Ellis and I am so excited to be a new bartender here at Jayne’s. I come from a background of classic cocktails, and my rigorous training has prepared me to experiment with cocktails in a way that I feel melds very well with the style at Jaynes. My goal is to continue to serve high quality classic cocktails, with a few remixes that will hopefully be to your liking! While I hope you make it on down to the bar to come try some of these drinks and give me your feedback, I’d also like to highlight a few that I’m particularly loving right now.

The first one is the St. Collins’ Blood. This cocktail is based around a classic Tom Collins with gin, fresh squeezed lemon juice, a touch of simple syrup and club soda. With the summer months approaching, I wanted to add a little something so that you can enjoy it while taking in some sunshine on our back garden patio. We add a few slices of blood orange and muddle them into the mixture, and after it’s just about ready, we add a float of St. Germain. The fresh muddled fruit and elder flower liqueur really take old Tom up a notch and add a refreshing floral note to a classic summertime cocktail.

Also back on the menu is the Bramble. We stray a bit from this classic recipe by using a Holland style gin called Bols Genever, in place of a more neutral gin. It has a rich buttery finish that pairs brilliantly with the fresh muddled blackberries. Throw in some fresh squeezed lemon juice and a float of Creme de Mure (a blackberry liqueur) and you’ve got a rich citrus cocktail that offers a great start or finish to any meal (or both if you share my tastes).

If Tequila is your thing, then let us mix you up an El Diablo, A cocktail that originally appeared in Trader Vic’s Book of Food and Drink in 1946, this mix of Tequila, fresh squeezed lime juice and ginger beer is like a flavorful Moscow Mule that traveled south of the border. With a float of Creme de Cassis (a black currant liqueur), one taste of this tiki classic will make you see why bartenders are still raving about it 65 years later.

That’s it from me for now.   You can find me behind the bar on Tuesday, Wednesday and Friday nights from 5pm on.  I’m looking forward to mixing up a few of these drinks for you and finding out which ones are your favorites!
20110614-125446.jpg

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Welcome! You’re going to love it at Jayne’s!!

    June 14, 2011
  2. David #

    Sarah is not one to toot her own horn, but she received some of her mixology training from the legendary Sam Ross of New York’s famous Milk & Honey. She is simply one of the best young bartenders in San Diego. Good fit for Jayne’s!

    June 24, 2011

Leave a Reply

