Skip to content

7.2 Easter Earthquake Hits Baja

Just felt the the 7.2 Earthquake centered down in Baja about 35 minutes ago.  Felt like it lasted at least 10 seconds.  Biggest I’ve felt since my first, the ’89 Loma Prieta.   I was in my freshman year at the University of San Francisco just about a month in.   Didn’t get those where I grew up in Westport, CT.   This one really brought me back….

Bay Bridge Upper Deck Collapse, 1989

2 Comments Post a comment
  1. Talala #

    This one scared me pretty badly. I was in the car and out of nowhere I felt it shaking a little. At first I thought it was just some kid messing around and shaking the car but it kept going. I looked at the cars next to me and the one on my right was shaking as well, but a bit more. Then I felt it actually rocking back and forth pretty badly and I saw people from the stores running outside and looking at the buildings. I got out of the car and grabbed my phone so I could call my mom to tell her to get out of the store right away but when she came back she said she didn’t feel it at all and that there was no signal. Since I wasn’t in a house or anything I don’t know how bad it actually was, and good thing too because I’m terrified of earthquakes.

    April 4, 2010
  2. glad everyone’s okay… I was in Italy during the 1989 SF quake… but I was in LA during the 1994 quake… glad/hope everyone’s okay… San Diego Parzens all good… thinking of ya’ll…

    April 5, 2010

Leave a Reply

