Skip to content

Go ask Alice: what is natural wine?

alice

Above: Alice Feiring is one of our favorite wine writers and is one of the leading voices on natural wine in this country. If you haven’t already read it, we highly recommend her book The Battle for Wine and Love or How I Saved the World from Parkerization. Today is her birthday. Happy birthday, Alice!

As we gear up for the first-ever San Diego Natural Wine Summit here at Jaynes Gastropub, we’ll be posting regularly on the wines we will be featuring at the event on August 9. Today, we wanted to share a post we recently read at Saignée’s series 31 Days of Natural Wines by one of our favorite wine writers, Alice Feiring. If you haven’t checked out her blog Appellation Feiring, you’re missing out on one of the best sources of news and information on natural wine on the internet (and also a leading source for $60 half bottles of Krug in Soho!).

Alice posted about one of our favorite natural wines here at Jaynes: Domaine de la Pépière Muscadet.

    A few hours before I left Paris, I walked aimlessly on the Rue Dufour when a cloud dumped up a reservoir of rain, soaking me. Moments later, some sprite flipped the switch on the sun. My feet suddenly dry, my hair properly frizzed out, I was spit out like Jonah, right in the mouth of Fish, the wine bistro on Rue de Seine.

    Hanging up the pain seigle and the Epoisses, purchased for eating stateside, I then sat at the bar and ordered a salad to fortify me for my return flight. I also aimed for a glass. Yet, as I prepared to choose from the wine list, I felt jaded. Having spent almost two decades being pulled into a fermenting vortex of my subject, was I bored?

If Sex and the City ever met natural wine, it would be Alice Feiring. Go ask Alice and read the rest of her post here

2008 Muscadet by Domaine de la Pépière is served nightly at Jaynes Gastropub.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

